Traits of Drug Addicts

Traits of Drug Addicts

I am the face of a drug addict. Do I look like one to you? I bet if you met me you would not even guess that I have a drug problem. Why am I writing about this problem? I want to get correct information to any one who will listen.

 

I am addicted to legal drugs. Most drug addicts are portrayed as drug seeking, manipulative people. I want to speak out and be a walking example for the true addict. I want the stereotypes to be recognized as just stereotypes. The psychiatric community wants people to believe these stereotypes. Then, the addiction becomes the fault of the patient. But, think about it. Doctors, especially psychiatrists being manipulated? I would say that manipulating a psychiatrist into giving you drugs would be impossible. Now, what is possible is that the psychiatrist is more than willing to give you drugs because if he or she writes X amount of prescriptions for a certain drug, then the Doctor is rewarded. Rewarded by more than pens, pencils and paper tablets advertising the drug. Now, doctors get vacations, free spa visits and more. It depends on the drug company and the drug.

 

Fact, more people die from prescription medications than illegal drugs. The psychotropic drug market has grown in the last ten years almost at the pace of technology. I am not against psychotropic medications. What I am against is the burden being on the patient to understand the risks involved in taking the medications. I get more information about my birth control pills every time I refill a prescription, than I have ever received from my refills of Adderall, Clonazepam, Effexor and Lexapro. Now, Effexor, Lexapro and similar medications are new. The doctors who invented these drugs do not even know how they work. So, how could I expect a booklet explaining the risks.

 

However, there is no excuse for Adderall. It is a simple amphetamine. In the 1980's was illegally made and was called "speed". This drug has been studied. The psychiatric community know the long term effects. They know it is addictive. Do I receive literature explaining this in any detail like my birth control pills. No way. I receive a little half page piece of paper that tells me if I have any of x, y, or z symptoms, then I need to call my doctor. Is it me or could a circular pattern develop? I call the doctor and say," I seem to be needing more of this drug than before... what do you think?" The doctor responds," well it's been my experience that patients reach a level they need to be at and stay at that level." I believe this answer because I thought this doctor was a good one. Ironically, I did no drugs in college or high school. I did not know I was taking speed. I did not know I could become addicted. This, one addiction, has had an impact on my life that is enormous. None positive. I have reduced my "required" amount. This is very good. Now I am under the care of good doctors. But, so far I have to take Adderall or I fall into a very depressed state. A state of depression I have never experienced in my life.